Pillars of Justice
red slant.png


Four Pillars to Qualify for a Home Loan

The four pillars that help you qualify for a home loan include income, credit, assets, and collateral.


This is your capacity to pay back the loan. 

  • Source and type of income (salary, commission, self-employment)

  • Length and stability of income

  • How long that income is expected to continue in the future

ATM keypad


This is your readily available money and savings. 

  • Savings and Money Market funds

  • Assets or investments that can be converted to cash such as IRAs, 401(k) accounts, stocks, bonds, CDs, etc.

  • Cash gifts from family members

  • Cash from down payment or closing cost assistance programs, grants or matching funds


This includes your credit score and report from one or more credit agencies.

  • Scores of 580 and above typically qualify you for a home loan.

  • Lenders check your credit report to assess your record of paying bills and other debts on time.

  • Lenders review of your monthly debts including car payments, student loans, credit card payments, personal loans, child support, alimony and any other debts.

Credit Card
Signing a Contract


This is the value of the home you plan to buy.

  • Your home’s value is based on an appraisal.

  • Your home is pledged as security against the loan.

Connect with a Loan Originator Today!

white lines.png
Young woman